Me before you, JoJo Moyes – A book review

Me before you book review

Before Me before You became the must see romantic film of 2016, it was a beautifully moving novel written by JoJo Moyes. Me before You is a love story like no other I have ever read and although a tearjerker at heart, the comical moments and lovable characters entwine together to  make this book a really enjoyable read.

Me before You is the story of Will and Lou, a tale of boy meets girl with a difference. Louisa Clark is a home bird, age 26 and living in the town she was born in, her quirky fashion sense and chatty nature made me love this character pretty much as soon as she was introduced on the page. Lou is happy living her small town life, living with her parents and working in a cafe near the town’s castle. That is until one day her boss hands her her final wages and tells her the cafe is closing. Lou is faced with the task of finding a new job, this is how she meets Will.

Will Traynor is a rich, high flying and powerful business man. He is living the dream, he has a beautiful girlfriend and a life full of adventure and friends. That is until one day on his way to work he is hit be a motorbike and the life he loves, the life he has always known, is over. Although tragic, it is thanks to this accident Louisa and Will meet.

Camilla Traynor, Will’s mother, employs Lou to be  a carer for Will. Although she has no experience whatsoever, Camilla employs Lou anyway. Following his accident, Will is now wheelchair bound, a quadriplegic with no chance of recovery and a shadow of his former self. As it does Lou, it took me quite a while to warm to Will, in fact I really didn’t like him to start with. Obviously though, as the chapters progress Will and Lou start to form a relationship, not a romantic one and often not even a friendly one, just a tolerance for each other filled with sarcastic comments, witty remarks and enlightening conversations.

Just as all seems to be going well JoJo Moyes chucks in a revelation that sends the story of Lou and Will hurtling down a different path. I won’t reveal what the big secret is in case (like I did) you know nothing about this book, all I will say is as soon as I read it I didn’t want to read on as I did not want it to be true. The story continues down this new, uncertain and emotional route, all the while Lou is in turmoil over what she has discovered and is determined to stop it from happening.

I found this second section of the book really gripping, I couldn’t put my paperback down as I just needed to know how everything was going to turn out. By this point Will had really grown on me and I loved Lou’s character so much I didn’t want anything to happen that may upset her. It was during the chapters leading up to the end that I found myself with a knot in my chest and the moistness of tears waiting to spill from my eyes. Although there were a few conversations between Will and Lou near the end where I had to close the book, a kind of if I don’t read on nothing bad can happen attitude, I managed to get through the whole book without crying. Be warned though, have your tissues ready because this book is sad and if I hadn’t have filled those last few chapters with little breaks then I definitely would have been sobbing my heart out.

Yes this book is sad but it is also insightful, funny, well observed and incredibly moving. I have previously read The One plus One by JoJo Moyes and I just love the way she makes you really care about her characters and what happens to them. If you’re looking for a romance novel that is so much more than just a romance novel, I would really recommend the beautifully touching tale of Will and Lou, Me before You.

Also, I just wanted to mention I read the book and then I went to see the film in the cinema. While I loved both I would say, if you want to do both, read the book first as there is quite a bit missing from the film – as is so often the case with page to screen adaptations.

Have you read Me before You, what did you think of the book? If you haven’t read it would you consider grabbing a copy now and having a read? What about anyone who has read the book and seen the film, what are your thoughts? I would love to know.

If you liked this post you may want to read my other book reviews.

Disclaimer: This post contains an affiliate link. If you purchase anything by clicking this link I will receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

This post is linked to some of these amazing blog link ups. If you love blogs, go check them out and share the love.

blogginggood   twinklytuesdaybestandworstlinky

Like it? Pin it!

Me before you book review.


Never miss a post. Sign up for my weekly newsletter and receive a catch up email every Friday – no spam 🙂

Letter writing Naptime Natter

Sign up here



* After my recent blog move from Blogger to Word Press, some of my posts have been left looking a bit strange. I am working my way through everything and sorting out the formatting, hopefully it won’t take me too long! If you come across a post with strange looking formatting please let me know as I might have missed it. Thank you 🙂 *

 

Follow:
Share:

56 Comments

    • Wendy
      July 1, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      Oh yay, let me know if you enjoy it 🙂 xx

    • Wendy
      July 1, 2016 / 12:56 pm

      It is a fab book. I watched the film with my Mum, it’s really good xx

    • Wendy
      July 1, 2016 / 2:11 pm

      I saw it and it doesn’t spoil anything :). There are bits missing but nothing that takes away the main point of the story. I really liked the film and lots of good actors are in it too xx

  1. July 1, 2016 / 7:04 pm

    I’ve recently read one of Jojo Moyes’ other books – The one plus one and really enjoyed it. Like you say, she has a way of writing characters that makes you want to see how they get through at the end. I’ll definitely be reading ‘Me before you’ and I’m glad you haven’t given it all away in your review!
    #PicknMix

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 8:03 pm

      I loved The One plus One as well, my friend lent it to me and I’m so glad she did because I had never heard of Jo Jo Moyes before. No I would no way give away the ending in any of my reviews as I would be so annoyed if someone spoiled a book for me! Let me know what you think once you’ve read it:) xx

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 8:01 pm

      Haha aww bless you. I was so close to crying at both the book and the film, no idea how I managed to keep it together! There’s nothing wrong with a good cry hun xx

  2. July 1, 2016 / 9:03 pm

    I’ve heard so much about this book but still haven’t read it! I must read it before I see the film. #PicknMix

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 8:00 pm

      Yes, read it :). It’s so good xx

  3. The Tale of Mummyhood
    July 2, 2016 / 3:03 pm

    I have heard so many good reviews about this book but have never dared read it in case of all the tears! I think I need to be brave and add it to my reading list!

    #fortheloveofBLOG

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:57 pm

      Aww haha, sometimes it’s totally ok to have a good cry with a book. I definitely think you should add it to your reading list 🙂 xx

  4. July 2, 2016 / 10:25 pm

    I loved reading this book, it took me a while to read it as I had my daughter mid book, but I loved it. Like you the story kept me going, it was really intriguing to find out what happens, and I won’t reveal it on here. I don’t think that I would be able to go and see it at the cinema without crying. She also has a sequel Me After You – I hope I haven’t given the game away by saying that. Thanks so much for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x
    The Pramshed recently posted…#fortheloveofBLOG Week 9My Profile

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:55 pm

      It took me a little while to read too – although I don’t have having a baby as an excuse! – but once I found the time and got stuck in to it I couldn’t put it down. I was so proud of myself for not crying in the cinema but there was a woman behind us totally sobbing her heart out at the end..for ages! have you read the sequel? I can’t wait to find out what happened next xx

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:51 pm

      Haha, yay! You need to read it, it’s really good 🙂 xx

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:49 pm

      She’s fab isn’t she. I’ve only read this and The One plus One, I’m looking forward to reading some of her others soon xx

  5. July 3, 2016 / 10:17 am

    I adored this book and can’t wait to watch the film – I’ve heard a lot of people say that the film misses out a lot but that’s quite often the case. I always try to read the book before seeing a film based on a book and can’t wait to curl up in the cinema with my girls and watch it! #KCACOLS
    justsayingmum recently posted…The Vlog: Disciplining TeensMy Profile

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:48 pm

      It is definitely a film to watch with the girls, Oli would no way have sat through it and you would have laughed if I started crying haha. It does miss out quite a lot but nothing that takes away from the actual story xx

  6. July 3, 2016 / 10:34 am

    I loved this book and want to read the follow up. I fear they probably ruined the film and like you, would typically always read a book first! ill def watch it at some point as im intrigued to see what it’s like! #KCACOLS

    • Wendy
      July 3, 2016 / 7:46 pm

      Ohhh I want to read the sequel too, it’s the next book I’m reading once I’ve finished my current one. Yes I always read the book first as films always leave out loads, I don’t think this film has ruined the book for me though, I actually thought it was pretty good xx

  7. July 3, 2016 / 9:26 pm

    I haven’t read it yet – or seen the film, but it sounds like a really good read. Hopefully I’ll manage to get around to it before catching the film, at least! x #KCACOLS
    Jess Powell (Babi a Fi) recently posted…This Week #42My Profile

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 5:28 pm

      Oh yes, make sure you read it before you see the film :). Hope you find some time to read it xx

  8. July 3, 2016 / 9:56 pm

    This is definitely my type of book but am I terrible if I want to wait until it goes cheaper on amazon? I always do it!

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 5:29 pm

      Haha, if you lived close by I would let you borrow mine for free 🙂 xx

  9. July 3, 2016 / 10:46 pm

    I’ve been dying to see this film but I think I’ll read the book first! Can’t wait now. Think I’ll buy it tomorrow and start straight away #KCACOLS

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 5:29 pm

      Great idea! Hope you enjoy 🙂 xx

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:31 pm

      Yes do it, it’s really good 🙂 xx

  10. July 4, 2016 / 11:14 am

    I adore this book! I read in 24hrs, I just couldn’t put it down! The film is brilliant too, but the book is definitely better! JoJo Moyes has also written the sequel book now too called “after you” which is all about Lou’s life after Will which is a pretty decent read too. #mg
    laughing mum recently posted…Where Are Your Eyebrows Mum? – My Wedding Day!My Profile

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:33 pm

      Wow! That is dedication, you must have really enjoyed reading it. After You is next on my reading list, I am just reading a Cecilia Ahern one and then I’m off to buy it from the shop, can’t wait to find out what happened next xx

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 5:32 pm

      Haha, you wouldn’t have been alone! I nearly cried and the woman behind us was crying her eyes out bless her, I’m guessing she hadn’t read the book!xx

  11. July 4, 2016 / 12:48 pm

    I read this book when I was pregnant with Little Button. I was gripped and often ended up blubbering away on the train much to the discomfort of fellow commuters *opps! I would love to see this film! Sadly I will be waiting till it comes out on itunes, but perhaps that’s a blessing in disguise 🙂 #mg
    Annette, 3 Little Buttons recently posted…Inspire Me – Full of WonderMy Profile

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:35 pm

      Haha, I tried not to read it around other people as I was worried about crying! Ah yes if you wait for it to come out on iTunes atleast then you can sob away in the comfort of your own home 🙂 xx

  12. July 4, 2016 / 2:07 pm

    I’m really turned off by ‘traditional’ romance novels. Not my bag at all. Saying that ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ is one of my all time favourites and that’s a romance at it’s heart. This one sounds like it has a little more about it too. Will add it to my list- thanks for the recommendation.

    #fartglitter
    Mama, My Kid Doesn’t Poop Rainbows recently posted…The #FartGlitter Linky: Week Thirty OneMy Profile

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:36 pm

      Oh I am totally with you, I don’t like romantic novels unless there is a bit more to the story as well. This one definitely isn’t your typical romance even though there is a love story in there it is about so much more.xx

  13. July 4, 2016 / 2:38 pm

    I have been dying to see the film and now that I know there’s a book, I’m definitely going to try and read it first. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.xx
    Mommy’s Little Princesses recently posted…​Experiencing Langold’s Splash ParkMy Profile

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 7:14 pm

      Yes make sure you read the book as well as watch the film. It’s a great story xx

  14. July 4, 2016 / 9:52 pm

    I loved this book, in fact I have just downloaded the next one to read on my kindle. Not seen the film but I plan to! x #AnythingGoes

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 7:06 pm

      Yay, another JoJo Moyes fan she’s fab isn’t she? I can’t wait to read the second one xx

  15. July 5, 2016 / 2:26 pm

    I’m sure I’ve got this book in my pile of ‘books to read’so I’ll have to fish it out. It sounds fab! #fartglitter 🙂

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 7:02 pm

      Oh you should find it and then you should definitely read it 🙂 xx

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 6:58 pm

      I totally agree 🙂 xx

  16. July 5, 2016 / 11:25 pm

    I read this book ages ago and am still waiting to see the film. I can’t wait to see how it translates onto the screen, I really hope it’s as good as the book. #AnythingGoes
    Jaki recently posted…He broke me…My Profile

    • Wendy
      July 7, 2016 / 6:58 pm

      The film is really good. I didn’t think it was as good as the book but I always think that!xx

  17. July 7, 2016 / 8:38 am

    My goal for this month is to start reading again! I will add this to my list. Thanks for linking to #picknmix

    • Wendy
      July 8, 2016 / 11:37 pm

      Yay, hope you enjoy it. Thanks for hosting xx

  18. July 9, 2016 / 11:24 am

    I like that you kept the secret! It is one of my fav books although it was heartbreaking and made me sob and sob, it left me with loads to think about, but the quirky, funny parts were just such a true delight! thanks for sharing on #mg
    Mackenzie Glanville recently posted…My wallpapering experience was not what I expectedMy Profile

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:38 pm

      Aww, it so nearly made me cry too. Yes I didn’t want to give anything too big away because then there’s no point reading it. I know what you about giving you lots to think about, I just could not stop myself thinking about it for about a week after I finished it!xx

  19. July 9, 2016 / 2:43 pm

    I read Me Before You in late April and watched the movie earlier this week. As with *most film adaptations, the book was better than the movie, but I think the movie did a good job at conveying the “meat” and spirit of the book. Sure, there were numerous details and minor stories that were omitted or barely mentioned, but that’s to be expected. There’s just simply no way to include everything in the movie due to time constraints. I loved the movie and I gave it a sacred 5/5 rating on Goodreads. I really enjoyed the movie, too. My husband even liked it!

    • Wendy
      July 12, 2016 / 2:11 pm

      I totally agree, a lot was left out in the film but it didn’t stop it from being good. I definitely enjoyed the book more too and I looking forward to reading the sequel. Aww that’s nice you could watch it with your husband and he didn’t mind it, I had to watch it in the cinema with my Mum as my husband wasn’t having any of it!xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge