Bridget Jones Mad About the Boy – A book review

I love Bridget Jones. I am a big fan of the films as well as the original books by Helen Fielding. When I sat down and opened up Mad About the Boy, I was so excited to find out what was next for our beloved Bridget, after finally marrying her Prince Charming Mark Darcy. The plot of the book was not what I was expecting but I still really enjoyed it and found myself laughing out loud on several occasions. If you are a fan of the Bridget Jones’s Diary books and films you are definitely going to love the third and final instalment, Mad About the Boy.

bridget jones mad about the boy
This book is impossible to review without giving away a spoiler. I won’t reveal the exact details but if you don’t want to know anything then maybe you should check out one of my other book reviews instead.
Ok, so here it is. SPOILER ALERT, Bridget and Mark are no longer together. You find out this information on the very first page so this is not a major secret, I will not reveal the circumstances as to why  Mark is not around though, you will have to read the book to find that out.

Mad About the Boy is all about Bridget’s life after Mark. For the past 5 years Bridget has been a single Mum to their 2 children Billy and Mabel.  Days of getting stuck up fire man poles are long gone as Bridget is now getting stuck up trees with her kids in the local park instead. Blue soup kitchen disasters have been replaced with mishaps with the kids spag bol and shop bought food being disguised as home made. Bridget is now battling the trials of the school run and getting to grips with the politics of play dates and making ‘mum friends’. Bridget continues to count calories, enjoy a glass or five of Chardonnay and her countless fags have been replaced with copious amounts of Nicorette gum. 
She may now be a mother of two but Bridget is still searching for her dream career and a new man; a born again virgin is how Bridget’s best friends describe her. Determined to meet someone new, Bridget gets herself on Twitter. The unspoken rules and secrets of the online world baffle Bridget, I was in hysterics reading all her social media woes and her tweets to her disappearing followers. Things have changed since Bridget was last single and we follow her journey to finding a man in the digital age. Be prepared to feel as though you have read a dating guide book as Bridget undertakes some serious reading and research to bag herself a new man. 
Along with navigating her way through the online world, Bridget is also attempting to start a career as a screenwriter. Bridget’s musing over modern day fashion and whether it is acceptable for a woman in her fifties to wear skinny jeans with an oversized handbag to a business meeting had me laughing away to myself. Bridget juggles meetings with the school run, texts from a disgruntled Nannie and tweets to the aforementioned toy boy. It is nice to know that even in her fifties Bridget’s interest in men still surpasses that of her professional life, some things never change hey?

I love Helen Fielding’s witty and snappy writing style and even though I am not a fifty something, single Mum, I really related to Bridget. I found her rants about social media, fashion, parenthood and relationships very refreshing and funny to read. I had tears in my eyes on more than one occasion, sometimes due to laughter and others were a result of Bridget’s bitter sweet approach to starting a new relationship.  

If you are looking for a book to make you laugh, make you think about this world we now live in and maybe make you cry a bit, then you should definitely read Mad About the Boy. If Bridget’s tales of head lice infestations and drunken antics at the school sports day don’t make you smile, I don’t know what will. Give it a go, it is v.v. good.
Have you read Mad About the Boy or any of the other Bridget Jones books? What did you think? If not, have I persuaded you to give it a read? I hope so 🙂

This post is linked to..

A Bit Of Everything

A Cornish Mum
My Random Musings

Cuddle Fairy

Mummuddlingthrough

Mummascribbles

My Kid Doesn't Poop Rainbows

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday

Follow:
Share:

42 Comments

  1. March 7, 2016 / 7:07 pm

    I'm a massive Bridget fan – I absolutely adore the movies and so was really looking forward to this book. While I did enjoy it, I would have loved a book in between this one and Edge of Reason – it would have been great to read about her experiences of pregnancy and her and Marks married life together you know? Great review!

    Musings & More

  2. March 7, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    Bridget Jones is just my all time hero. I know that she's *whispers* not real, but I love live love her! More than cake!! I really enjoyed this book too. Favourite quote (which I now use all the time): "Keep buggering on Bridget" It's just perfect.

    Dawn x
    #fartglitter

  3. March 7, 2016 / 7:58 pm

    Ohhh I have read the first two but am a bit out of the loop and so didn't even know this was out. It sounds really good so will put it on my kindle and hope I get time to read it! #AnythingGoes

  4. March 8, 2016 / 12:21 am

    I must admit, I've been put off reading this book simply because of the Bridget and Mark thing. You have certainly persuaded me to give-it-a-go! It sounds very funny and light, just what I need! 🙂 #AnythingGoes

  5. March 8, 2016 / 7:26 am

    I love Bridget Jones and was really worried that I wouldn't enjoy the latest book after reading some negative reviews but I really loved it! 🙂 #twinklytuesday

  6. March 8, 2016 / 8:21 pm

    I so didn't want them to split up (don't worry I heard it from someone else first). That's the main reason I haven't been able to bring myself around to reading it. However from what you have said there sounds like some things that could balance it out. I should get myself a copy. #fartglitter

  7. March 9, 2016 / 1:49 am

    Sounds interesting. I wonder if they'll make a movie? I couldn't get into the style of the first one but I did enjoy the film.

    #fartglitter

  8. March 10, 2016 / 7:58 am

    I've only ever watched the films, but after your review I'm going to get the book! It's just one I've never thought of reading. Thanks for sharing #coolmumclub

  9. March 10, 2016 / 9:14 am

    Oh I really want to read this but just never find time to read. I love the series though so will have to make time! x

  10. March 10, 2016 / 2:55 pm

    Oh my a new Bridget Jones book WHERE HAVE I BEEN? Love her, and clearly I've been living under a rock for having missed this (or under a toddler lol) Thanks for linking to #coolmumclub lovely x

  11. March 10, 2016 / 4:58 pm

    Yes, I was a bit disappointed about that too. Would have loved to read about how Bridget coped with being pregnant.xx

  12. March 10, 2016 / 4:58 pm

    Haha, I love that quote too. P.s it's totally fine for fictional characters to be your hero xx

  13. March 10, 2016 / 4:59 pm

    It is really good, hope you find the time to read it xx

  14. March 10, 2016 / 5:00 pm

    Yes, I was a bit shocked about that bit too but the book is still really good, even with out Mark in it.xx

  15. March 10, 2016 / 5:01 pm

    Glad the bad reviews didn't put you off. It's really good xx

  16. March 10, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    Oh don't let that put you off, it is a really good story even though they're not together xx

  17. March 10, 2016 / 5:03 pm

    The writing style dies take a bit of getting used to I agree. Ohh I hope there is going to be a film xx

  18. March 10, 2016 / 5:04 pm

    Aww I'm glad I have convinced you. The books are definitely worth reading if you like the films xx

  19. March 10, 2016 / 5:05 pm

    It definitely worth staying up late reading. Hooe you find some time to read it xx

  20. March 10, 2016 / 5:06 pm

    Haha. It has been out a while now so not sure how you missed it, hiding under a toddler sounds about right though!xx

  21. March 11, 2016 / 8:20 am

    This book is really good. I read it a year or so ago but I remember really enjoying it. It's funny as I didn't really like the first books, but liked the films but the third book was really good. I wonder whether I'll like the film!

    Sally @ Life Loving
    #picknmix

  22. March 13, 2016 / 12:26 am

    I've never actually read any of the books but this review makes me think I'll have to give them a go! x #KCACOLS

  23. March 13, 2016 / 10:31 am

    I've seen the films but I'm get to read any of the books however this does sound great and one I might have to get as I know the story 🙂 #kcacols

  24. March 13, 2016 / 12:03 pm

    I read this book a while ago, and it was really nice to read your review to remind me of how good the book was. I loved it, especially her twitter talks. Actually when I read the book, I was just starting to use twitter then too, it was really fun. But oh so sad about Mark.
    Amanda. #kcacols

  25. March 14, 2016 / 12:29 am

    I read the first two way back when they came out – didn't actually know that there was another one now! It sounds good though, may have to look into it. #KCACOLS

  26. March 14, 2016 / 1:10 pm

    I haven't read the books but I did enjoy the movies – especially the first one. Oh I'm sad to hear Mark & Bridget aren't together anymore! Typical though for a Bridget story! Thanks so much for sharing with us at #bloggerclubuk x

  27. March 14, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I haven't read the books but love the movies! Think I might have to start from book one as def want to watch this movie x #KCACOLS

  28. March 15, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    Oh I loved the first couple of books and of course the movies!! Will have to give this one a read it sounds like a lighthearted read. I can't believe she's in her fifties though!!

    Thanks so much for linking up to #KCACOLS and I hope to see you back again on Sunday xx

  29. March 17, 2016 / 9:30 am

    I have read this book and totally loved it!! Especially the twist with the ending…. Can't wait for it to be made into a film!!

  30. March 17, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    Oh this sounds good, I need a book to start reading as it's on my non negotiables list and I might just choose this one now. Thanks for linking to #PickNMix

  31. March 19, 2016 / 3:03 pm

    Oh yes I would love to read this book. I didn't realised it was out. I'm a massive fun of Bridget Jones I have watched all the movies. Thanks so much for sharing this review at #KCACOLS, 🙂 x

  32. March 24, 2016 / 7:32 pm

    It's funny how sometimes the film can be better than the original book. I can't wait to watch this one when it comes to cinemas xx

  33. March 24, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    They're definitely worth a read xx

  34. March 24, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    I really recommend giving it a read, I loved it xx

  35. March 24, 2016 / 7:34 pm

    Haha, yes her Twitter rants really resonated with me too. I know, the mark thing us really sad xx

  36. March 24, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    If you liked the first 2 then you should definitely read it xx

  37. March 24, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    Haha, nothing could possibly run smoothly in a Bridget Jones tale could it?!xx

  38. March 24, 2016 / 7:36 pm

    They are worth a read if you can find the time xx

  39. March 24, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    Yep, it's lovely and lighthearted. A real feel good book xx

  40. March 24, 2016 / 7:37 pm

    Ohh yes I loved the ending too!O know, I can't wait to see it on the big screen xx

  41. March 24, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    Yes, read it!It's really good xx

  42. March 24, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    It's been out a while now,it really is worth a read xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge